Savvy Orlando Traffic Violation Lawyer Fights Your Ticket
Determined representation when your license is in jeopardy
If you are like most Floridians, especially those in the Orlando area, you depend heavily on your car to get to work, take the kids to school, run your errands and simply enjoy your life. So, when you get a parking ticket, you should take it seriously. The first ticket may not seem like much, but points on your license don’t go away overnight. And if you have a run of bad luck, you could find yourself in jeopardy of a license suspension. That’s why The Law Offices of Tad A. Yates, P.A. recommends that you fight every ticket. Defeating a ticket in court prevents the insurance company from hiking your premiums and keeps your driving record clean.
Common traffic violations and their Florida penalty points
Under the Florida penalty system, moving violations not only draw monetary fines but also put points on your record that stay there for extended periods of time.
Three points are assessed for each of these violations:
- Speeding less than 15 mph over the limit
- Running a stop sign
- Failing to yield
- Driving without seatbelts
- Disregarding child seatbelt laws
- Driving with an open container
- Driving on the shoulder
These violations result in four points each:
- Speeding at 15 miles per hour or more over the limit
- Speeding resulting in an accident
- Passing a stopped school bus
- Driving recklessly
- Leaving the scene of an accident
You can expect your insurance company to raise your monthly premiums soon after you tack some points onto your record.
Worse still, if you get enough points within a certain amount of time, and you’ll lose your license. The suspensions are:
- 30 days for 12 or more points within a 12-month period
- Three months for 18 or more points within an 18-month period
- One year for 24 points within a three-year period
When the points start to add up, you should consider taking a safe driving course to shed those points more quickly.
Serious representation for criminal traffic offenses
For some moving violations, fines and penalty points are not the whole story. If you are cited for reckless driving, it is also considered driving with “a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property” — a misdemeanor for which you face up to 90 days in jail for a first offense and six months for a second offense. Making matters worse would be such aggravating factors as:
- Causing property damage or injury to a person — This is a first degree misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail or 12 months of probation and a $1,000 fine.
- Causing serious bodily injury — This is a third degree felony with penalties of up to five years in prison or five years of probation and a $5,000 fine.
Mr. Yates is adept at managing reckless driving defenses, as well as defenses to DUI charges. For such serious charges, you must retain an experienced and dedicated criminal defense lawyer who will fight on your behalf.
Contact a determined traffic violation attorney in Orlando for a free consultation
Don’t let a traffic citation put you at risk of losing your license or facing criminal charges. Call The Law Offices of Tad A. Yates, P.A. at 407-608-7777 or contact us online to schedule your free consultation.