Orlando Attorney Defends Motorists Accused of Driving with a Suspended or Revoked License
Florida trial lawyer fights for restoring your driving privileges
In Orlando and throughout many parts of Florida, residents are heavily dependent on their cars. So some people are willing to take the risk of continuing to drive even though their license has been suspended or revoked. This can lead to serious consequences, including an even longer period of prohibited driving. The Law Offices of Tad A. Yates, P.A. understands the dilemma a suspended or revoked license can cause. Mr. Yates defends motorists and helps them return to good standing regarding their licenses. The best time to deal with a suspension or revocation is when it happens. However, if authorities have already charged you with the offense, Mr. Yates can provide quality representation that mitigates the consequences of your arrest.
Driving without a valid license in Florida
A violation may be cited when a person never received a state-issued license or simply allowed their license to lapse. The former case is frequently a youthful indiscretion and the latter most often occurs when a busy person neglects to renew a license on time. In either case, the consequences can be serious. Driving without a license is a second-degree misdemeanor. You could draw a fine as high as $500 and spend up to 60 days in jail, though courts rarely impose jail time for offenders with no prior criminal record. What’s more, this is a strict liability offense, meaning you can’t claim as a defense that you didn’t know there was a problem with your license.
Driving on a suspended or revoked license in Florida
Driving with a suspended or revoked license means you had legal trouble that prompted state authorities to take away your driving privileges. Reasons for a license suspension include:
- Conviction of DUI
- Refusal to take a Breathalyzer test after a traffic stop
- Failing to pay child support
- Driving without insurance
- Causing an accident
- Inadequate vision
- Failing to pay traffic fines
- Three months for 18 points in a year and a half
- One year for 24 points in three years
You can also draw a suspension by accumulating too many penalty points in too short a time, as follows:
- One month suspension for 12 points in a single year
A suspended license means you cannot drive a motor vehicle for a period of time or until you correct the issues that led to the suspension. Depending on the reason for the suspension, you may be required to pass tests or fulfill administrative tasks. A revocation of your license requires seeking reinstatement, which is a more complicated and difficult process.
If your license is suspended or revoked, you may be able to apply for a hardship license that would give you restricted driving privileges so you can go to work or school.
Penalties for driving on a suspended or revoked license
The severity of punishment usually depends on whether you have been caught driving without a license in the past. These are the levels of punishment:
- First conviction — A second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine
- Second conviction — A first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000
- Third or subsequent conviction — A third-degree felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
A conviction on any of these charges could put your freedom and future driving privileges in jeopardy. You need a determined criminal defense lawyer who’s proven he knows how to fight and win.
Contact a skilled criminal defense lawyer in Orlando to discuss unlicensed driving charges
The Law Offices of Tad A. Yates, P.A. defends clients accused of driving with a suspended or revoked license in Orlando and beyond. For determined representation, call Tad A. Yates at 407-608-7777 or contact the firm online to schedule a consultation.